BY: Megan Hundley

Unaware that this gem of an album was being released this past week, I was happily surprised by stumbling upon The Goo Goo Dolls, Greatest Hits Vol. 2 at my friendly neighborhood Reckless Records! Not only are there 22 hard-to-find tracks on this wonder but there is also a DVD containing 24 of their videos (both live and just normal music videos!). Released on August 19, I apologize for my lapse in keeping up to date on all things that were popular in the ’90s. Needless to say I was overly excited, yet still strapped for cash. I certainly plan on picking up a copy after this coming Friday (pay day!) and then I can Goo my life up a little bit.

That sounded weird, but I’m keeping it. I rarely have these Tobias Funke moments so I am embracing it.

( Photo by Megan Hundley, The Goo Goo Dolls, El Yunque Rainforest, PR, February 2008 )

More tidbits about the 2-disc album are that you can find some of your favorite music videos from their well-known hits all the way to their newest releases. I’ve been trying to keep up with the GGD (for short) after seeing them this past February in El Yunque Rainforest in Puerto Rico. Yeah, I’ll attach some pictures from the show. It was UNREAL! John has quite the sense of humor that night that was vocalized when he told us to, “Watch out for the rabid monkeys”. Thanks for the tip.

I also was fortunate to meet them before the show and get a picture with them! But, this was all after I tripped and almost fell right in front of John Rzeznik. He caught me before I fell but I totally felt like a tron and you can tell by my awkward face in the picture. So, without further adieu, here are the pictures I promised…

(Me and the Goo Goo Dolls in El Yunque)

( Photos by Megan Hundley, The Goo Goo Dolls, El Yunque Rainforest, PR, February 2008 )

So, I suggest going, if not sprinting, out to the local record store (or just go on iTunes) and get this new album. I can’t wait to snag a copy of my very own and cherish it forever and ever. I might just frame it and put it up on my wall with my David Bowie vinyl records. We’ll see.

