Publication director, Megan Hundley, has a few opinions to express about the upcoming Spring Fever concert series on Saint Louis University’s campus. Begin rant now.

What do you get when you mix together a smorgasbord of random musicians that close to no one on this campus wants to go see? You get the fantastical musical stylings of Augustana, Jo Dee Messina, The Starting Line, Tyler Hilton and Chingy. Holy crap, people! I don’t care if this shit is FREE, I am not going.

n12955208979_7958.jpg

Don’t get me wrong, I was a scenester once so I enjoy one of The Starting Line’s songs (“Best of Me”) but everyone else on that list is just plain old boring. Yes, I don’t like country so I automatically do not want to listen to Jo Dee Messina and Chingy hasn’t had a good song out in a few years so that would be immensely boring to see him but what is the deal with Tyler Hilton? I remember seeing things about him on The WB but along with that channel’s demise, his luster seems to have faded as well. Then there’s Augustana, the band who has had one hit in the past year that I can think of (“Boston”) and that song isn’t even that great.

“I am certainly not going to be ‘right thurr’,” said current KSLU General Manager Courtney Nelson.

I am going to go ahead and use facebook as a reference just for a few statistics here. So far, according to the event “SPRING FEVER: Rock, Rap and Rawhide”, there are less than 500 people who are “planning” on going. I don’t know about you, but I only manage to make it to about 50% of the events I say that I’m attending and I am a pretty dependable individual. Along with the despicable amount of probable attendees, if you are not a SLU student you can plan on paying $25 dollars to be admitted to this hellacious excuse for a concert. For the non-students sake, I sure hope that these performers do a better job than Rihanna did when she came! (i.e. Rihanna was puking numerous times and only performing for about 30 minutes)

I just wish that SAB would do a poll of the entire student body of the music that we enjoy. Maybe if a little information were gathered about what students actually want there would be a more positive light put upon this situation. Maybe if our money were going towards a worthwhile concert then more people would attend. Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda.

Well, there’s always next year, right? Oh wait, I’m a senior.

Rant over.

